Tags

, , , , , ,

Feeding Kaden

I love my son. I do. With total abandon, in fact. But, holy cow, that child eats like a professional linebacker! Yes, he’s a growing boy, yes, it’s to be expected, but Oh. Mah. Gaw. That kid eats more than me, his daddy, and his sister put together. Well, unless it’s chocolate and then I out-eat him every day of the week.

Anyway, I digress.

Feeding children isn’t cheap. Feeding children healthy food is even less cheap. The price of fresh fruits and vegetables can fluctuate based on season, weather, where you live, where you shop…so many different reasons. We (currently) live in the South. I don’t like the weather here, nor does it like me, therefore I don’t spend much time outside, unless it’s in the fall or the early spring. These two seasons, here in Georgia, are great for growing things. My folks live in Oregon. When we went to visit this summer, my son got to harvest strawberries, snap peas, lettuce, blueberries, tomatoes, onions, and garlic. He helped plant pumpkins! I need to plant some vegetables.

What I’m getting at, is that there ARE ways to make eating healthy more affordable. Yes, some of them take a little work, and some of them take a little up-front capital (containers, soil, seeds, stakes, etc.) and they definitely take time (watering, weeding, bug checks). The ROI (Return on Investment–I love financial terms I can use in different ways), however, YOUR ROI is healthy food, (inexpensive healthy food that in some cases will easily fertilize and spread to make more plants to grow more food), time with your children (would I make this suggestion if I had to do it all myself?!?!), and the opportunity to teach (and learn) about balancing meals, money–how much does it cost to start up and maintain and how much money is saved, and maybe even a little abut weather patterns. 🙂

Learn about where you live. When are the good growing seasons? When shouldn’t you attempt to grow things (think zucchini in July in Texas)? What are the costs of fresh fruits and vegetables in the store? What it will cost for you to take the time–with your family or by yourself–to commit to growing food, and see if you can’t find a way to affordably feed an adorable, eight-year old eats as much as a professional linebacker, little boy.

Please share your successes, failures, ideas, and comments! I’d love to hear from you!

